Chris Campbell


Host/Producer, The Progressive Underground

Chris Campbell (aka DJ Cambeaux) is a DJ/music journalist and nationally-renowned tastemaker who has written for publications such as Upscale, Smooth Jazz News, Soul Interviews and Examiner.

His books The Essential Neo Soul and Neo Soul 2.0 spotlight the progressive soul music movement and are the only publications to cover its history.

Campbell is also a correspondent for NPR (National Public Radio) curating global underground music for segments such as “Heavy Rotation” and “Songs We Love.”

As host of the Progressive Underground, he takes listeners on a multi-genre musical odyssey by way of creative hand-picked playlists, exclusive artist interviews and atmospheric style mixes.   Follow @cambeaux

Recent Posts

The Progressive Underground Show 116

March 23, 2015 on The Progressive Underground

We unveil exclusive new material and bump the best in deep house, future soul, nu-jazz, b-sides and rare grooves.

Song Artist Album
Science Test Instrumental Big Foot Beats 12"
Messenger Potatohead People feat. Mosaic & Sorceress Big Luxury
Traders II Dan Shake feat. Rennie Foster Out of Sight EP
About Last Night Paul Randolph This Is... What It Is
Floatin' With Louise Evil Needle 12" single
Ozel AB Karim Bey Crimes EP
Cairo Butcher Brown All Purpose Music
Ghosts Ibeyi Ibeyi
Moving In Kerri Chandler The Thing For Linda EP
Magic Love (Chocky Remix) T. Ruggieri 12" single
It'll Be Over The Supreme Jubilees It'll Be Over
Rotation Herb Alpert Rise
Love of a Lifetime King Britt feat. Twyla w/Vikter Duplaix On The Seventh - Park Hyatt Chicago
Orisa (Atjazz Love Soul Remix) Atjazz with Gilles Peterson's & Havana Cultura Band More Than A Remix
Song Artist Album
Black Russian DVS-1 12" single
Epiphany Greenskeepers Pleetch
Grimm Rick Wade The Grimm World Of Tones
Technology Technology Plaza Recordings 12" single
Evolution of the Beast (Autechre Mix) Palm Skin Productions 12" single
Courage Talking Drums 12" single
In-flight Wave Beat Spacek Modern Streets
Little People (Black City) Matthew Dear Black City
Can We Pretend Trus' Me feat. Amp Fiddler In the Red
Trans-Europe Express Kraftwerk Trans-Europe Express
King Tubby Meets the Rockers Ernest Ranglin Below The Bassline
Teach Me A Love Song Jessica Care Moore The Legend of Jessi James
Cookie Raver Illumination This Is Illumination
Breezin' Basil Hardhouse City Streets EP
Overcome Stan Forebee 12" single
Song Artist Album
Cravin' (Joe's Deep House Mix) Joi 12" single
It's Your Life Joi Star Kitty's Revenge
Le Groove Rhodes Rene Breitbarth Le Rythme Korg E.P.
An Mitan Ke G'Ny 12" single
Bronx Theme DJ Cam 12" single
Chameleon Herbie Hancock Head Hunters
For You Hazel Playground
I Need Your Love Jamila 12" single
Change All Over Me Indy Soul feat. Tantra Zawadi & Dana Byrd 12" single
The Way LaVeda Davis 12" single
Indigo LeXus Nostalgia
Fugue States Vanessa Daou Slow To Burn
Now I Know Brandon Williams feat. Jesse Boykins III & Robert Glasper XII
Live for the Night (DJ Spinna re-mix) Pirahnahead & Diiniti 12" single
Softly Jaidene Veda Wanderlust

The Progressive Underground Show 115

March 16, 2015 on The Progressive Underground

Song Artist Album
Softly (Veda Nu Jazz Vocal Mix) P60 feat. Jaidene Veda 12" single
Technology Plaza Melodic Recordings 12" single
The World of Aquarius Shoebox Electric Blue
Overcome Stan Forebee 12" single
I Hope We Never Break Up Emmavie feat. Ego Ella May 12" single
Evrbdd (Tagi's Solar Remix) Sly Johnson 12" single
Esperando Minha Vez Azymuth Azimuth
Science Test Instrumental Big Foot Beats 12" single
Inflight Wave Beat Spacek Modern Streets
La Brea Alex Isley 12" single
Only Grace (Kai Alce Interpretation Mix) Jay Ka feat. Paula King 12" single
U & I JONGPADAWAN 12" single
LIttle People (Black City) Matthew Dear Black City
Cruise Akuji Oceans
Detroit Moonstarr 12" single
Don't You Worry About a Thing Roselien Truth EP
Song Artist Album
Lay Me Down (Pomo re-mix) Sam Smith In The Lonely Hour
Something About You Level 42 World Machine
Music is my Sanctuary Gary Bartz Music Is My Sanctuary
Love Undone Lost Midas 12" single
Here We Go Again Lost Midas 12" single
Crying for Love Manoo & Francois A. Southport Weekender Volume 9
Highway Drive Butcher Brown All Purpose Music
Rocker (Spiritchaser Mix) Erin Leah & N'Dinga Gaba 12" single
You Want Poems Jessica Care Moore 12" single
Live for the Night Pirahnahead & Diviniti 12" single
Circulate Swing Out Sister Get In Touch With Yourself
Hill Climb The Baker Brothers Hear No Evil
Danger Ahead Vanessa Daou Light Sweet Crude (Act One: Hybrid)
Coolin' Out Prince Ali 12" single
Interview at Honolulu Lone Lemurian
Song Artist Album
To Da Bonee Johannes Albert The H.A.N.S. EP - Volume 2
Night Cap LaShaun Phoenix Kotaran The Space Between the Rain
Skyscrapers Wits 12" single
This Day Is Mine Malena Perez Free to Fly
Elephants in Love Jean Luc-Ponty Fables
Seven Days in Sunny June Jamiroquai Dynamite
Everything Brandon Williams feat. Matt Cuson XII
As She Moves Raybone Jones 12" single
All Is Forgiven Alekesam 12" single
Really Bluemind Om: Chilled Volume 2
Healing Magic Zulu Mafia feat. Tantra Zawadi 12" single
More Than Amp Fiddler Basementality 2
Hand & Glove Lilac Jeans feat. LaVeda Davis 12" single
Heaven Such Trial & Error
Seasons (Waiting on You) Future Islands & BadBadNotGood 12" single