In The Groove: New music discovery from Sun Byrd, Hello Mary, Bacchae, Phantom Handshakes

Listen to “In the Groove” with Ryan Patrick Hooper weekdays from noon-3 p.m. ET on Detroit Public Radio 101.9 WDET.

"In The Groove" host Ryan Patrick Hooper in WDET's studios in Detroit.

Beautiful moments in public radio listening as we go from vintage Brazilian funk courtesy of Azymuth into a Fleet Foxes classic. Plus, new music from Peter Cat Recording Co., Sun Byrd, excellent survey of East Coast punk-on-the-rise from Hello Mary and Bacchae, alongside Tom Misch, Black Keys, Wu-Lu and more on a very new music discovery Monday here on In The Groove.

Check the playlist below and listen to the episode for two weeks after it airs using the player above.

In The Groove with Ryan Patrick Hooper playlist for July 8, 2024

  • “Half The Truth” – Sun Byrd
  • “Bad Bad News” – Leon Bridges
  • “Morning (Peanut Butter Wolf Remix)” – Azymuth
  • “Blue Ridge Mountains” – Fleet Foxes
  • “People Never Change” – Peter Cat Recording Co.
  • “Que Sena” – Clifford Brown, Jean Bassa, Ella Mae Sueref
  • “Ponta de Areia” – Esperanza Spalding & Leo Genovese
  • “Outubro” – Milton Nascimento & Esperanza Spalding
  • “Walk Through Fire (feat. Tony Allen)” – Yannis & the Yaw
  • “Trust” – Jordan Rakei
  • “Places & Spaces” – Donald Byrd
  • “0%” – Hello Mary
  • “Dead Man” – Bacchae
  • “Insecure” – Tom Misch
  • “I Found U (feat. Kajama & Fantasma)” – Spoek Mathambo
  • “This Is Nowhere” – Black Keys
  • “Make Friends” – Hiatus Kaiyote
  • “Parabéns (feat. Marcos Valle)” – Tom Misch
  • “Ya Va Pasar” – Reyna Tropical
  • “Empty Hands” – Sababa 5 & Yurika Hanashima
  • “People” – Moodymann
  • “Sinner” – Wu-Lu
  • “Like I Say (I runaway)” – Nilüfer Yanya
  • “ANNIE, PICK A FLOWER.. (MY HOUSE)” – Saya Gray
  • “On My Way” – CARRTOONS & The Kount
  • “Motorcycle” – Remi Wolf
  • “MOOVIES” – Tierra Whack
  • “See You Again (feat. Kali Uchis)” – Tyler The Creator
  • “Daydreaming” – NxWorries
  • “Kaleidoscope” – SAM MORTON
  • “Le Départ” – Adi Oasis
  • “To Your Own Devices” – Kate Bollinger
  • “She’s Leaving You” – MJ Lenderman
  • “Into Your Arms” – Lemonheads
  • “Drug Buddy (KCRW 1992 Session)” – Lemonheads
  • “Green Eyed Love (Classixx Remix)” – Mayer Hawthorne
  • “Good Intentions” – Phantom Handshakes
  • “Desire (Moodymann Remix)” – Jose James

Listen to In the Groove with host Ryan Patrick Hooper weekdays from noon-3 p.m. ET on 101.9 WDET or stream on-demand at

Support the shows you love.

WDET’s unique music programs are dedicated to exploring the music and culture of our region and the world. Keep the music going. Please make a gift today. Give now »


  • Ryan Patrick Hooper
    Ryan Patrick Hooper is the award-winning host of "In the Groove" on 101.9 WDET-FM Detroit’s NPR station. Hooper has covered stories for the New York Times, NPR, Detroit Free Press, Hour Detroit, SPIN and Paste magazine.