In The Groove: Anderson .Paak and Knxwledge bring back NxWorries, W.I.T.C.H. returns to Detroit + more new music

Listen to “In the Groove” with Ryan Patrick Hooper weekdays from noon-3 p.m. ET on 101.9 WDET.

Feels good to be back on a Monday bringing you some heat on this painfully hot week in Detroit.

Because it’s so hot, I tried to cool it down with the sultry sounds of NxWorries, the collab between Anderson .Paak and producer Knxwledge. Their sophomore effort “Why Lawd?” is a grown-up version of their debut. Darker, moodier, smoother, but still packed with the lush peats and lyrics delivered with that perfect raspy voice. One of my favorite albums of the year so far.

There’s also a new Brittany Howard remix, a focus on Zamrock ahead of W.I.T.C.H.’s tour stop this week at Third Man Records in the Cass Corridor, and new music from Dr. Dog. They’re getting ready to release their first new album in six years! It’s all here on In The Groove.

Check the playlist below and listen to the episode for two weeks after it airs using the player above.

In The Groove with Ryan Patrick Hooper Playlist for June 17, 2024

  • “FromHere (feat. Snoop Dogg & October London)” – NxWorries
  • “Cinnamon Curls” – Tom Misch
  • “Earth Sign (LP Giobbi Remix)” – Brittany Howard
  • “Suns of Gold” – Leifur James
  • “Let Your Hair Down (feat. Hutch the Great)” – Max Sinal
  • “Firestarter (Jitwam Remix)” – The O’My’s
  • “Through Your Soul (feat. Bubz Fiddler & J Dilla)” – Amp Fiddler
  • “Mad Man” – Mike Nyoni and Born Free
  • “Coffin Maker” – Chrissy Zebby Tembo & Ngozi Family
  • “Lazy Bones” – W.I.T.C.H.
  • “Uriel” – Mary Jane Dunphe
  • “Method Actor” – Nilüfer Yanya
  • “Crossbow” – Tamar Aphek
  • “Nothing Can Surprise Me” – Tamar Aphek
  • “Love Struck (feat. M Ward)” – Dr. Dog
  • “Count The Days (feat. Jenny Lewis)” – Swamp Dogg
  • “Synthetic World” – Swamp Dogg
  • “Lonely” – Swamp Dogg
  • “If You Don’t Want My Love” – Jalen Ngonda
  • “Empty & Silent” – Mount Kimbie & King Krule
  • “Weak In Your Light (Daniel Avery Remix)” – Nation of Language
  • “Cognitive Dissident” – The The
  • “Dumpalltheguns (feat. Danielle Ponder)” – Adi Oasis
  • “So Long” – Danielle Ponder
  • “Carry Me Higher (7 Inch Version)” – The Blessed Madonna, Joy Anonymous & Danielle Ponder
  • “Love And Hate In A Different Time” – Gabriels
  • “Rain” – Alice Russell
  • “The only conscious being in the universe” – bar italia
  • “I Just Needed You To Know” – Girl Scout
  • “Flea” – St. Vincent
  • “Crosseyed and Painless (feat. Money Mark)” – Chicano Batman
  • “The Seer” – Nubya Garcia

Listen to In the Groove with host Ryan Patrick Hooper weekdays from noon-3 p.m. ET on 101.9 WDET or stream on-demand at


  • Ryan Patrick Hooper
    Ryan Patrick Hooper is the award-winning host of "In the Groove" on 101.9 WDET-FM Detroit’s NPR station. Hooper has covered stories for the New York Times, NPR, Detroit Free Press, Hour Detroit, SPIN and Paste magazine.