In The Groove: Music from Charlotte Day Wilson, Astrid Sonne, a Stevie Wonder birthday mix + more

Listen to “In the Groove” with Ryan Patrick Hooper weekdays from noon-3 p.m. ET on Detroit Public Radio 101.9 WDET.

Ryan Patrick Hooper

Ryan Patrick Hooper

On this episode of In the Groove, you get two artist spotlights in one show to crack open the week during a hot Monday.

Those spotlights include Charlotte Day Wilson’s lovely new album, Cyan Blue (plus her work with BADBADNOTGOOD), and Danish composer-singer Astrid Sonne, who released her album, Great Doubt, back in January but it’s just now starting to catch my ear.

And don’t you dare think I’d forget about Stevie Wonder’s 74th birthday, which is today (May 13)! I love how easily these handful of Stevie classics blend and feel right sitting side-by-side with brand new music from a whole different generation of artists. No doubt that speaks to Stevie’s endless genius!

See the playlist below and listen to the episode for two weeks on-demand after it airs using the media player above.

In The Groove with Ryan Patrick Hooper Playlist for May 13, 2024

  • “Because I’m Me” (Black Milk remix) – The Avalanches
  • “All I Do” – Stevie Wonder
  • “Sleeper” – BADBADNOTGOOD & Charlotte Day Wilson
  • “In Your Eyes” (feat. Charlotte Day Wilson) – BADBADNOTGOOD
  • “Money” – Charlotte Day Wilson
  • “Mountains” – Charlotte Day Wilson
  • “AmmA” – Bab B’Bluz
  • “I’m Gonna Dance” (Jitwam remix) – Asha Puthli
  • “Tango” – Julion De’Angelo & Specter
  • “Another Star” – Stevie Wonder
  • “Do you wanna” – Astrid Sonne
  • “! MAVIS BEACON” – Saya Gray
  • “Have A Talk With God” – Stevie Wonder
  • “Wuthering Heights” (Kassa Overall Remix) – Cécile McLorin Salvant
  • “Hell of a Ride” – Nourished By Time
  • “Province” – TV on the Radio
  • “Stay With Me Through the Night” – Fabiana Palladino
  • “Got Me Coming Back Rite Now” (feat. Amp Fiddler) – Moodymann
  • “Your House” (feat. Astrid Sonne) – Coined
  • “Hive Mind” – Tirzah
  • “A Figure in the Surf” – Mount Kimbie
  • “Say you love me” – Astrid Sonne
  • “God Herself” (Tune-Yards remix) – Madison McFerrin
  • “As” – Stevie Wonder
  • “run!” – WILLOW
  • “Let My Yes Be Yes” – Ibibio Sound Machine
  • “Trust” – Jordan Rakei
  • “Song for My Father” – Tenderlonious
  • “Hangin’ on Your Lips” – Cousin Kula
  • “Telescope” – Hiatus Kiayote
  • “No Limit” – Tirzah
  • “Bloodline” (Marla Kether remix) – Samantha Lindo
  • “Summer Maddness S.A.” – Karriem Riggins

Listen to In the Groove with host Ryan Patrick Hooper weekdays from noon-3 p.m. ET on 101.9 WDET or stream on-demand at

Support the shows you love.

WDET’s unique music programs are dedicated to exploring the music and culture of our region and the world.
Keep the music going. Please make a gift today.
Give now »


  • Ryan Patrick Hooper
    Ryan Patrick Hooper is the award-winning host of "In the Groove" on 101.9 WDET-FM Detroit’s NPR station. Hooper has covered stories for the New York Times, NPR, Detroit Free Press, Hour Detroit, SPIN and Paste magazine.