In The Groove: The wonderfully weird world of George Clinton cameos and a deep new music Friday (May 3, 2024)

Listen to “In the Groove” with Ryan Patrick Hooper weekdays from noon-3 p.m. ET on 101.9 WDET.

There are a lot of new releases to pay attention to for this new music Friday on In The Groove, starting with King Princess’ straight-ahead but still lovely cover of “Dirty Work” by Steely Dan.

IAN SWEET checks in with a cover of Broken Social Scene’s “Anthems for a Seventeen Year-Old Girl.” Then we have major releases from Kamasi Washington featuring George Clinton, who gets a mini-mixtape of his wonderful cameos and features over the years on this episode.

La Luz, Hiatus Kaiyote, Ashley Henry, Sara Marie Barron and Tammy Lakkis bring us home. Plus, a lot of love for Detroit legend Jon Dixox.

See the playlist below and listen to the episode for two weeks after it airs using the media player above.

In The Groove with Ryan Patrick Hooper Playlist for May 3, 2024

  • “Dirty Work” – King Princess
  • “Anthems for a Seventeen Year-Old Girl” – IAN SWEET
  • “Gemini” – Angélica Garcia
  • “Pull The Rope” – Ibibio Sound Machine
  • “Telescope” – Hiatus Kaiyote
  • “Virgo” (feat. Julius Rodriguez) – Meshell Ndegeocello & Brandee Younger
  • “TURBULÊNCIA” – Ibelisse Guardia Ferragutti & Frank Rosaly
  • “Get Lit” – Kamasi Washington, George Clinton & D Smoke
  • “Ezekiel’s Wheel” – Erick the Architect & George Clinton
  • “Fo Yo Sorrows” (feat. George Clinton, Too $hort & Sam Chris) – Big Boi
  • “One Nation Under A Groove” – Funkadelic
  • “Ain’t Nice” – Viagra Boys
  • “Army Of Me” – Julia Jacklin & RVG
  • “Nothing Like” – Mannequin Pussy
  • “Crushing” – Eartheater
  • “Estación Esperanza” (feat. Manu Chao) – Sofia Kourtesis
  • “I’ll Go With You” – La Luz
  • “Mystic Spiral” – Shadow Show
  • “Kokoro” – Sababa 5 & Yurika Hanashima
  • “Stompin & Motorik’n” – Penza Penza
  • “Mississippi Goddam” – Ashley Henry
  • “Chant” (Jon Dixon Hi Tek Jazz Edit) – Shota
  • “Rockstar Superstar” – Kapitan & Rejoicer
  • “Girlfriend” (JKriv Mix) – TVLKING HEVDITS
  • “FMPM” – Eddie Logix
  • “Soul Bright” (Kon Rework) – Saucy Lady & Kon
  • “Messages From The Stars” – Rah Band
  • “Want it” (feat. Amp Fiddler & Dames Brown) [Jon’s 6 Mile Edit] – Jon Dixon
  • “Subdued” (Tammy Lakkis Mix) – Sara Marie Barron, Tammy Lakkis
  • “Notice” – Tammy Lakkis

Listen to In the Groove with host Ryan Patrick Hooper weekdays from noon-3 p.m. ET on 101.9 WDET or stream on-demand at

Support the shows you love.

WDET’s unique music programs are dedicated to exploring the music and culture of our region and the world.
Keep the music going. Please make a gift today.
Give now »


  • Ryan Patrick Hooper
    Ryan Patrick Hooper is the award-winning host of "In the Groove" on 101.9 WDET-FM Detroit’s NPR station. Hooper has covered stories for the New York Times, NPR, Detroit Free Press, Hour Detroit, SPIN and Paste magazine.