Sam’s Jams: Fruko, “A la Memoria del Muerto”

Listen to the title track from the 1972 album A la Memoria del Muerto


Check out our Sam’s Jams playlist below and listen to CultureShift weekdays from noon. to 2 p.m. on WDET 101.9FM.

Meta Stange/WDET
Meta Stange/WDET

Fruko is a salsa musician from Colombia. The group Fruko Y Sus Tesos formed in 1969 by musician Julio Ernesto Estrada (aka Fruko). Starting in 1969, the band has recorded over fourty-two albums and is still active today. The band has featured some of the most prominent figures in Salsa music, including vocalist Joe Arroyo. Their song “El Preso” from 1975 is considered an anthem in the world of Salsa music. Check out the dance-floor heater “A la Memoria del Muerto” (to the memory of the dead), which was the title track on Fruko’s 1972 album of the same name.

Sam’s Jams is the weekly song selection of WDET’s creative producer Sam Beaubien, a longtime Detroit musician who also helms the soul-funk band Will Sessions.

From 70 years ago to contemporary releases today, Sam’s Jams is the musical equivalent of digging for hours in dusty record store bins to find forgotten-but-should-be-remembered deep cuts pulled from the genres of funk, jazz and soul genres.

The Sam’s Jams Spotify playlist will update with a new song on Mondays after airing on CultureShift, so bookmark this page to find your new favorite song each week.


  • Sam Beaubien
    Sam Beaubien is a musician, composer, producer, and educator in Detroit. He is also the founder and leader of the acclaimed ensemble, Will Sessions.