$1.M left to reach WDET’s $2 million goal.
 
Over 2700 listeners have helped secure WDET with a gift! WDET must raise the balance of $2 million by September 30.  
Make your gift today›

 

Heard on MichMash

MichMash: Whitmer’s Mask Order Has Teeth, But Will Local Law Enforcement Bite?

post thumbnail image

Image credit: Courtesy of State of Michigan

Some local officials have said they won’t give out fines for people and businesses who violate the order.

Tweet This

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer has been urging residents to mask up in order to slow the spread of COVID-19. She’s issued several orders and for the first time it looks like they have some teeth.

The governor has been really straightforward on saying that basically these are a tool that we have, and we don’t have a lot of tools.” — Emily Lawler, MLive.

But it’s been confusing for some people. What are the rules? What happens if you don’t follow them? And what does it mean that some members of law enforcement aren’t going to enforce the orders?


Subscribe to MichMash with hosts Jake Neher and Cheyna Roth on iTunes, Spotify, Google PodcastsNPR One or wherever you get your podcasts.


Last week the governor “re-upped’ her requirement that people wear masks, not only indoors but now also in crowded outdoor spaces.

The governor has been really straightforward on saying that basically these are a tool that we have, and we don’t have a lot of tools. Right now, we don’t have a vaccine. We don’t have a cure. But we do have this one simple, cheap, relatively effective method that we can use to try to slow the transmission of this disease,” says MLive’s lead reporter for state news and politics Emily Lawler, discussing the governor’s position on masks.

A lot of local sheriffs, local police departments have said that that’s not something they’re going to do. Either they don’t have time for that, or, you know, in some cases, just not a priority.”

The mask requirements have gotten a lot of push back with opponent arguments ranging from them being uncomfortable to it violates rights. However, there are exceptions to the mask requirements, like if you have a medical condition or if you’re giving a speech, says Lawler.

For the first time, last week’s revised order put penalties in place for not wearing a mask. You could be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $500, Lawler says.

But that does rely on someone enforcing that, and a lot of local sheriffs, local police departments have said that that’s not something they’re going to do,” she says. “Either they don’t have time for that, or, you know, in some cases, just not a priority.”

Which means there could be a ‘patchwork’ of enforcement across the state, and if you go to law enforcement to report that a person or business is not following the order, depending on where you live, that complaint might get ignored.

Trusted, accurate, up-to-date

WDET is here to keep you informed on essential information, news and resources related to COVID-19.

This is a stressful, insecure time for many. So it’s more important than ever for you, our listeners and readers, who are able to donate to keep supporting WDET’s mission. Please make a gift today.


Donate today »

Jake Neher, Producer, Detroit Today

Jake Neher is a producer and reporter for Detroit Today. He has formerly reported on the Michigan legislature.

Jake.Neher@wdet.org Follow @GJNeher

Cheyna Roth, Reporter

Cheyna has interned with Michigan Radio and freelanced for WKAR public radio in Lansing. She’s also done some online freelancing and worked on documentary films.

CRoth@mlive.com Follow @Cheyna_R

MichMash

This post is a part of MichMash.

Each week, WDET's Jake Neher and Michigan Public Radio's Cheyna Roth un-jumble Michigan issues and talk about how statewide news stories affect you. 

Stay connected to Detroit