A Century (and More) of Baseball in the D in One Big Book

2016 is the 116th season of Detroit Tigers baseball, and Wayne State University Press captures moments from all of them in print and pictures. It just released the fifth edition of “The Detroit Tigers: A Pictorial Celebration of the Greatest Players and Moments in Tigers History.” William M. Anderson wrote the original version 25 years ago. The new edition covers the Miguel Cabrera years, in which the Tigers have won four division championships, and the 2012 American League pennant. Despite having rosters built to win the World Series, the team still hasn’t won the Fall Classic since 1984. Anderson, the former director of the Michigan Department of History, Arts and Libraries, tells WDET’s Pat Batcheller one reason why they haven’t won it all is a bullpen that hasn’t lived up to lofty expectations. Click on the audio player to hear the conversation.

Pat Batcheller


Image credit: Pat Batcheller

Aired on: Morning Edition
About the Author

Pat Batcheller

Senior News Editor & WDET Host, Morning Edition

Hi, I’m Pat Batcheller, your host for WDET’s Morning Edition. I bring you the news, weather, traffic, and information to help you start your weekday.

pbatcheller@wdet.org   Follow @patbwdet

We want to hear from you.
Share your thoughts and opinions: